If Jamaica had Winter Hat

DSCN0012

Welcome to my first post! I’m so excited.

It annoys me to pay for patterns. I don’t know why exactly. Someone clearly put time, effort and creativity in developing the pattern. I guess, a lot of me believes creativity thrives with inherited knowledge.

This one is based on a Rasta style knit hat. It fits me loosely without falling off as written. But I don’t like anything tight.

For this pattern you’ll need:

  • Worsted weight yarn (I use Caron© a lot)
  • Size F hook
  • Size H hook

Pattern is worked from the bottom up. If you don’t have a big head start with 84 stitches but remember you will have to add more increases to get to 144 stitches in the hat body.

With F, chain 96 and join with sl st.

Ribbed edge

Round 1) chain 3, dc in each chain around and join with sl st

Round 2) chain 2, fpdc in same joining stitch, dc, *fpdc, dc* around. Join with sl st to top of first fpdc.

1453304682392-216

Round 3 and 4) Repeat round 2. At the end of round 4, ch 1 and switch hooks.

Body

Round 5) With H hook. Sc in join, 2 sc in next stitch, *sc in next st, 2 sc in next stitch* around. 144 sts. Join with sl st

Round 6-19) sc in each sc around do not join. You can use a stitch marker to follow the beginning of each round. I just eyeballed it.

Triangles band

DSCN0010 (2)

Round 20) Dc, *ch 3, sk 3, (popcorn, ch 1, sk 1) 4 times, popcorn, ch 3, sk 3, dc* around ending with a popcorn st. Do not join.

Round 21) Leaving 1st dc unworked, (just trust me, ignore it) *ch 3, dc in ch 3 space, dc in dc, dc in next ch 3 space, ch 3, (popcorn, ch 1) in next 3 chain 1 spaces, popcorn in next ch 1 space* around. It’s fairly easy on this part to tell where it starts again. Do not join.

Round 22) *ch 3, dc in ch 3 space, dc in each of the next dc, dc in next ch 3 space, ch 3, (popcorn, ch 1) in next 2 chain 1 spaces, popcorn in next ch 1 space* around. 

Round 23) *ch 3, dc in ch 3 space, dc in each of the next dc, dc in next ch 3 space, ch 3, (popcorn, ch 1) in next chain 1 spaces, popcorn in next ch 1 space* around.

Round 24) *ch 3, dc in ch 3 space, dc in each of the next dc, dc in next ch 3 space, ch 3, popcorn in next ch 1 space* around. Ch 3

End Triangles band, continue body

Round 25) sk 3, *Sc in each dc, 3 sc in ch 3 space, sc in popcorn, 3 sc in ch 3 space* around. 4 sc in last ch 3 space.

Round 26-31) sc in each sc around

Round 32) sc2tog every 12 stitches around. If this last part isn’t perfect, you will be fine fiddling with it instead of ripping out. I don’t know about you, but ripping out work that isn’t joined makes me nervous.

Round 33 on) sc in each sc and sc2tog at each sc2tog. Until you have only 12 sts remaining. Fasten off and gather stitches together.

DSCN0009 (2)

There are some things in life that I decide are too much trouble to make. If this is one of those for you, you can always submit an order to my Etsy shop here.

That’s it for this post. I hope I did well (also that I can add a comments section so people can tell me if I suck).

Happy hooking!

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

